Seattle Wushu Center

Martial Arts, Mind & Body Fitness for all ages 

Forums

Forum Home > General Discussion > Question: What attracted you to your chosen martial art?

seattlewushu

Your input is welcome! For me, I started out in Karate. I was attracted to Karate initially, because I was a kid and didn't know the difference between Karate and the "kung fu" I saw on the old TV series. :) However, from the first day, I was hooked on the sense of stability and "power" of the art. When I started learning Kata, I was drawn to the "imaginary fight" aspect of the routines. It was only later that I learned that Kata has so much more to offer.

Kajukenbo: I was attracted to the "no nonsense" self defense of the system.

Wushu: The dynamics and the athletic aspects.

Eskrima: Being Filipino, I always thought that Eskrima and Kali were cool. :) I grew up hearing stories and legends about my great grandfather, Santiago Toledo, and I thought  "wouldn't it be cool if I could learn Eskrima!". When I was blessed with the opportunity to study with Master Chris Petrilli and Grandmaster Cacoy Canete, I knew that the art would be a part of my repertoire. To this day, my favorite weapon of choice is the knife.

Taijiquan: Although it took an injury for me to fully appreciate the benefits of the art, I was initially drawn to it for the internal aspects.....the concepts of "strength through relaxation" and the balance of yin and yang intrigued me. Now, though years of practice and learning from my masters, I continue to feel drawn to the internal arts, even though I still practice the external arts.  These days, Taijiquan is my main focus.

What about you?? What attracted you to your chosen art?

June 16, 2010 at 8:26 PM Flag Quote & Reply

Lyn Yancha

Mine started out with watching my paternal grandfather doing his daily morning exercises that looks similar to taichi. That was back when I was about 6 years old.